淡马锡年度报告2018
投资者

跨世代投资

我们继续着眼长远趋势,关注中期风险,不断重塑投资组合。

在截至2018年3月31日的财年里,我们的投资额为290亿新元,脱售额为160亿新元。近一半的新增投资集中在科技生命科学、综合农业、非银行金融服务消费行业 。这些行业目前占整体投资组合的26%,2011年时仅占5%,而且当时的投资组合比现在规模小。

展望下一财年,在经济增长逐渐放缓、短期市场风险增加的大背景下,我们将采取更加谨慎的投资策略,但会继续寻求值得投资的机会。

290亿新元

本财年投资额

年度投资回顾

具有显著竞争优势的科技企业继续是我们投资的重点。

我们完成了对Global Healthcare Exchange的投资,该公司为医疗保健服务与设备供应商提供电子交易平台和云端供应链软件服务。我们也投资了中国在线社交、娱乐与游戏企业腾讯(Tencent)。我们投资的其他科技公司包括:物流行业供应链执行软件提供商BluJay,专注开发法律行业商务应用程序的垂直类软件供应商Intapp,一流传感器与模拟半导体提供商ams AG,以及系列生活方式网站运营商Internet Brands

我们近一半的新增投资集中在科技、生命科学、综合农业、非银行金融服务和消费行业。

在金融服务行业,我们把重点放在非银行金融服务领域。其中,我们增加了对支付领域企业的投资,包括全球支付网络Visa万事达卡(Mastercard),国际支付科技公司Adyen,以及帮助企业接受来自网络、手机与销售端付款的支付服务公司Worldpay

在生命科学领域,我们投资于开发癌症细胞疗法的新加坡生物技术公司Tessa Therapeutics,以及美国数字医疗公司Pear Therapeutics,这家公司开发治疗行为健康和其他疾病的软件,不仅可在保险下报销,而且符合监管规定。

在综合农业领域,我们本财年的投资包括优质麦芽原料生产商Boortmalt,以及为农户提供农业分析数据的技术平台Farmer's Business Network

对美国市场的投资继续占据本财年新增投资的最大份额。我们投资了国际多元化学品与农业公司陶氏杜邦(DowDuPont),以及航空航天企业波音(Boeing)

具有显著竞争优势的科技企业继续是我们投资的重点。

在欧洲,淡马锡的投资包括飞机、直升机和国防设备制造商空中客车公司(Airbus SE),国际低压电气设备供应商罗格朗(Legrand),拥有500家幼托中心的育儿和学前教育服务商Busy Bees,以及高端休闲男装品牌Stone Island的生产商Sportswear Company。

在中国,我们投资了中国最大的自动化家用电器企业美的集团(Midea Group)。我们也投资了明码生物科技(WuXi NextCODE),该公司在全球市场提供基因数据生成、管理与分析工具和服务。

本财年脱售的主要资产包括在蒂芙瑞(Dufry)Gaztransport & Technigaz的股权。虽然我们也脱售了Celltrion IncCelltrion Healthcare中国工商银行DanamonBurger King Brazil的部分股权,不过仍然对这些公司持有大额投资。

160亿新元

本财年脱售额

2018年3月后,我们对在全球农作物科学领域处于领先地位的欧洲生命科学公司拜耳(Bayer)进行了大额投资。我们也与施耐德电气印度公司(Schneider Electric India)合作,完成了其低压与工业自动化产品部门和Larson & Toubro的电气与自动化部门合并。另外,我们也参与了中国金融科技公司蚂蚁金服(Ant Financial)的C轮股权融资,该公司运营着旗舰支付平台支付宝(Alipay)


为企业提供成长资金

在本财年内,海丽凯资本(Heliconia Capital)投资了数家新加坡消费与医疗保健行业的中小企业,包括高端奢侈品皮具设计品牌Ethan K,以及在新加坡、马来西亚和印度尼西亚提供医疗保健服务的新康国际医疗集团(Health Management International)

海丽凯继续与其投资组合公司合作,为业务创造价值。海丽凯也根据投资展望,脱售部分投资组合公司的股权。雷蛇(Razer)等一些早期的投资组合公司在本财年成功上市。

2017年2月宣布成立的国际合作项目基金(International Partnership Fund)资金规模6亿新元,已于2017年下半年投入运营。海丽凯与新加坡的中小企业合作,一直积极评估东南亚地区的潜在商业机会。


促进创新

2017年,淡马锡对农业、医疗保健以及数字媒体领域的一些创新型初创企业进行了投资。

合成生物领域是一个新兴焦点,尤其是可持续的食品生产。我们的投资组合包括用植物做成口感如同肉类的食品生产商Impossible Foods,以及制作素食乳制品的Perfect Day

2018年1月,我们同意与全球领先的物流公司德迅集团(Kuehne + Nagel)成立合资企业,共同投资处于发展初期的物流科技公司。


企业转型

2017年12月,职总英康(NTUC Income)富敦资金管理公司(Fullerton Fund Management)宣布进行战略合作,指定富敦资金管理公司为职总英康资产组合的投资管理人。

这项战略性合作使富敦资金管理公司成为新加坡最大的本地资产管理公司之一,管理的资产增至400亿新元以上。

相关内容

Temasek Review 2018
Investor

Investing for Generations

We constantly reshape our portfolio in line with our views of long term trends, and an eye on medium term risks.

During the financial year ended 31 March 2018, we invested S$29 billion and divested S$16 billion. Technology, life sciences, agribusiness, non-bank financial services and consumer made up nearly half of our new investments. These sectors now constitute 26% of our portfolio, up from a 5% share of a smaller portfolio in 2011.

Looking ahead for the year, we expect to be more cautious, given the heightening near term market risks against gradually slowing growth. However, we will continue to seek out intrinsically investable opportunities.

S$29b

Investments
for the year

Investment Highlights

Technology companies with distinct competitive advantages remain a key focus.

Global Healthcare Exchange provides an electronic trading exchange and cloud-based supply chain software for healthcare providers and suppliers, while Tencent gives us exposure in China to online social networking, entertainment and games. Other investments included BluJay, a provider of supply chain execution software solutions for the logistics sector; Intapp, a growing vertical software provider focusing on business applications for the legal industry; ams AG, a leading analogue semiconductor platform focused on sensor solutions; and Internet Brands, an operator of a portfolio of health websites.

Technology, life sciences, agribusiness, non-bank financial services and consumer made up nearly half of our new investments.

Our focus in financial services was in the non-banking sub-sectors, with a growing exposure in the payments space through the global networks of Visa and Mastercard; Adyen, a technology-enabled global payment services company; and Worldpay, a company enabling businesses to accept online, mobile and point-of-sale payments.

Within the life sciences sector, investments included Tessa Therapeutics, a Singapore-based biotech company developing cell therapy for treatment of cancer; and Pear Therapeutics, a US-based digital therapeutics company that delivers reimbursable, regulated and prescription software to treat behavioural health and other diseases.

Boortmalt, a producer of premium malt ingredients, and Farmer's Business Network, an agriculture analytics platform for farmers, were some of our agribusiness investments during the year.

The US again accounted for the largest share of our new investments during the year. We invested in DowDuPont, a global diversified chemicals and agriculture company; and Boeing, an aerospace company.

Technology companies with distinct competitive advantages remain a key focus.

Investments in Europe included Airbus SE, a manufacturer of aircraft, helicopters and defence equipment; Legrand, a global supplier of low voltage electrical equipment; Busy Bees, a provider of childcare and early education services with 500 nurseries; and Sportswear Company, which manufactures casual premium menswear under the brand Stone Island.

In China, we invested in Midea Group, the country’s largest automation-enabled home appliance company; and WuXi WuXi NextCODE, which offers tools and services globally for generating, managing and analysing genomic data.

Our key divestments during the year included our positions in Dufry and Gaztransport & Technigaz. We partially divested Celltrion Inc and Celltrion Healthcare, Industrial and Commercial Bank of China, Danamon and Burger King Brazil, while continuing to retain significant exposures in each of them.

S$16b

Divestments for the year

Post March 2018, we made a major investment in Bayer, a European life sciences company with global market leadership in crop science. We also partnered Schneider Electric India in the proposed merger of their Low Voltage & Industrial Automation products business with Larson & Toubro’s Electrical and Automation division; and participated in the Series C equity financing of Ant Financial, a China-based fintech company that operates the flagship Alipay payments platform.

Enabling Growth Capital

During the year, Heliconia Capital invested in several Singapore-based small & medium enterprises (SMEs) in consumer and healthcare. Investments include Ethan K, a high-end luxury couture house which crafts exotic leather; and Health Management International, a healthcare provider with presence in Singapore, Malaysia and Indonesia.

Heliconia continues to work with portfolio companies to create value for their businesses. In line with Heliconia’s investment horizon, it has also commenced exits for some portfolio companies. Some of the earlier portfolio companies, such as Razer, were successfully listed during the year.

The S$600 million International Partnership Fund, announced in February 2017, came into operation in the second half of the year. Heliconia has since been actively evaluating potential opportunities in the Southeast Asian region, in partnership with Singapore-based SMEs.

Fostering Innovation

In 2017, we invested in several innovative early stage companies in agriculture, healthcare, and digital media.

Synthetic biology is an emerging focus, especially for sustainable food production. Our portfolio includes Impossible Foods, which develops meat products from plants; and Perfect Day, which produces animal-free dairy ingredients.

In January 2018, we agreed to form a joint venture with Kuehne + Nagel, a leading global logistics player, to invest in early stage logistics technology companies.

Transforming Enterprises

In December 2017, NTUC Income (Income) and Fullerton Fund Management (FFMC) announced a strategic partnership to appoint FFMC as the investment manager of the portfolio of Income assets.

The strategic partnership establishes FFMC as one of the largest locally owned asset management companies in Singapore, with its assets under management increasing to over S$40 billion.

Related Content