2015年对全球经济挑战重重,反映出市场对2008/2009年全球金融危机以来长期量化宽松政策失效的担忧,以及对中国债务杠杆问题的顾虑。

2015年全球实际经济增长率只有3.1% ,是金融危机以来增长最为缓慢的一年。全球股票市场波动性增加,大宗商品价格低靡,政策工具的有效性愈发不确定。这些都令经济前景显得黯淡。

淡马锡逆风前行,始终坚守使命,创造可持续的回报,为世代民众谋福利。我们竭尽所能,成就世代社群的发展和进步。

投资组合业绩表现

截至2016年3月31日,淡马锡投资组合净值为2,420亿新元,比上一财年减少240亿新元,主要是持有的上市股份市值下跌所致。

按新元计算的1年期股东总回报率为负9.02%,主要受上市投资股价下跌影响。期限较长的10年期和20年期股东总回报率均为6%,自1974年成立以来的股东总回报率为15%。

本财年财富增值为负447亿新元。

来自投资组合公司的股息收入保持稳定,达80亿新元。截至2016年3月31日,股息收入约为利息开支的18倍

本财年内,淡马锡的投资额为300亿新元,脱售额为280亿新元。我们继续从更长远角度平衡投资组合,适应新兴趋势,包括中产阶级不断增长的需求和以互联网为基础的共享经济。

我们在本财年末维持净现金状况。从流动性来看,淡马锡所持有的现金、银行存款余额以及短期投资项目总值,是未来10年到期的80亿新元债务的3倍

截至2016年3月的财年结束后,作为法国达飞海运集团 (CMA CGM) 于2015年12月发出的自愿性全面收购要约的一部分,我们出售了所持有的海皇轮船有限公司 (Neptune Orient Lines) 股权。我本人作为海皇创始管理层的成员,虽然有些遗憾,但我相信海皇轮船与达飞集团的合并将会成就一家领先的船运企业,为客户带来可靠、高效的服务。

经济展望

我们对未来几年的经济前景持谨慎乐观态度。

美国的经济复苏大体处于正轨,预计中国将成功完成更可持续增长的中期转型。尽管可能会加剧未来风险,但预计多数主要经济体会继续维持宽松的货币政策,其中欧洲和日本可能进一步加大货币宽松力度。

新加坡开放型的经济结构让我们容易受到全球经济变化的冲击,但持续推行的国内经济结构调整将有助于为未来增长释放更强的生产力。

总体上,尽管股票市场仍有较高波动性,但我们对成熟市场和新兴市场的基本面均持积极态度。中国经济的增速会放缓,但将更具可持续性。全球能源价格可能企稳。

我们的机构

可持续性是淡马锡跨世代投资理念的精髓,包含了稳健而可持续的治理,讲求诚信、追求卓越的价值观,也表达了我们对社群和世界持久不变的尊重。

我们在着眼未来的同时也随时关注瞬息万变的世界,做到与时俱进。这正是自淡马锡创建以来一直驱动我们向前的理念。

2011年,淡马锡国际正式成立并作为淡马锡控股全资拥有的管理实体,以便更好地管理不断扩大和日益全球化的投资组合。

2015年10月,李腾杰先生被委任为淡马锡国际的执行董事兼首席执行长,引领淡马锡作为积极活跃的投资者与股东继续前进。

何晶女士继续担任淡马锡控股的执行董事兼首席执行长,监督淡马锡作为资产管护者所肩负的职责,履行保护淡马锡过去所累积的储备金的宪法责任。

何晶和腾杰互相配合,共同监督并强化淡马锡作为着眼未来机构的基础。

我们也很高兴地欢迎腾杰在2016年3月后加入淡马锡控股董事会。

2016年5月,腾杰对淡马锡管理架构进行了调整,以适应不断变化的发展需要。淡马锡的行业与市场投资团队统一划归到一个投资组,并成立了新的投资组合战略与风险组,对投资组合的长期韧性与风险予以更多关注,帮助我们积极塑造投资组合,把握全球主要趋势所带来的机遇。

为了加强可持续性与资产管护的概念和项目,我们将一些现有部门重新组合,成立了可持续发展和统筹组。

与企业发展组、投资组合管理组、组织发展组以及我们分布全球的机构网络一道,淡马锡将更好地实现当下及长远的目标和使命。

6%

20年期股东总回报率

2,420亿新元

投资组合净值

80亿新元

股息收入

18倍

股息收入对利息开支之比

《淡马锡年度报告》、信用概览与淡马锡债券是贯彻并强化长期原则的公开指标,促进与更广大社群的沟通,同时扩大利益相关群体的覆盖范围,为塑造自律并着眼未来的机构奠定基础。

在国际方面,淡马锡欧洲咨询委员会美洲咨询委员会分别于2016年1月和6月成立。我们对两个咨询委员会的杰出委员们表示热烈欢迎。他们与淡马锡国际委员会相辅相成,共同应对关键市场的相关趋势和问题。

《淡马锡年度报告》、信用概览与淡马锡债券是贯彻并强化长期原则的公开指标。

我们的社群

对2015年6月沙巴地震中不幸丧生的年轻生命,我们深感悲痛。事件发生后,我们在当月设立了 “沙巴地震基金”,捐助新加坡遇难者家属,为因地震而影响生计的沙巴培训师和向导提供帮助,并支持那些遇难者的家庭。

基金由教育部和淡马锡基金会管理,获得了来自个人和企业的慷慨捐助,筹得善款近100万新元,其中包括淡马锡对员工捐款的等额跟捐。

我们的员工也协助将善款设计成捐赠基金的形式,为灾难中因保护学生而英勇殉职的教师和向导家属提供持续资助。这三名殉职者是:Mohammad Ghazi Bin Mohamed 先生、Terrence Loo 先生和 Muhammad Daanish Bin Amran 先生。

淡马锡委托研发的 AIR+ 智能口罩,是唯一经过认证、适合儿童佩戴的 N95口罩,事实证明口罩应时所需,有效减缓了去年在新加坡等地因印尼烧芭引发长期烟霾的不良影响。

2015年11月,淡马锡关怀基金会和 SMRT Taxis 推出 SMRT-淡马锡关怀基金 “车轮上的 AED” 计划。在这项为期3年的试点计划下,100辆 SMRT 德士配备自动体外除颤器 (AED),进一步增强社区的紧急应变能力。

我们将继续支持各类人才培养、社群建设、能力增强以及生活重建的国内外公益项目。

我们继续支持各类人才培养、社群建设、能力增强以及生活重建的公益项目。

由衷感谢

我要感谢我们的股东、债券持有者、投资组合公司、联合投资者、监管部门、公益机构以及广大公众,谢谢他们多年来给予我们的持续信任。我也要感谢董事会同僚的指导,以及淡马锡管理层和员工们坚定的决心和奉献。

在跨世代投资的旅程中,让我们协同合作、共同成长、创造未来。

林文兴
董事长
2016年7月
淡马锡宪章

淡马锡宪章

淡马锡是积极活跃的投资者与股东。

十年业绩概览

十年业绩概览

过去10年间,淡马锡的投资组合净值几乎翻倍。

投资组合摘要

投资组合摘要

淡马锡持有2,420亿新元的净投资组合,在成熟经济体1与增长中地区2的曝险 (即投资组合敞口) 比例为60:40。

2015 was a challenging year for the global economy, reflecting fears over policy ineffectiveness after a long period of quantitative easing since the 2008/09 Global Financial Crisis and heightened concerns over leverage in China.

Real global growth last year was just 3.1%, the slowest rate of expansion since the Crisis. Increased volatility in the global equity markets, depressed commodities prices and rising uncertainty around policy toolkits and their effectiveness added to the muted outlook.

Notwithstanding the headwinds, we in Temasek remain committed to our mission to generate sustainable returns beyond our present generation; to make a difference, where we can, by fostering development and progress for our wider communities across generations.

Portfolio Performance

As at 31 March 2016, our net portfolio value was S$242 billion, down S$24 billion from last year, largely due to the fall in market values of our listed holdings.

One-year Total Shareholder Return (TSR) was negative 9.02% in Singapore dollar terms, in tandem with the share price declines for our listed investments. Longer term 10-year and 20-year TSRs were both 6%, and TSR since inception in 1974 was 15%.

Our Wealth Added was negative S$44.7 billion for the year.

Dividend income from our portfolio was a steady S$8 billion, or about 18 times our interest expense for the year ended 31 March 2016.

We invested S$30 billion and divested S$28 billion last year, as we continued to rebalance our portfolio towards longer term or emerging trends, such as the needs of the growing middle income populations and the internet-enabled sharing economy.

We ended the year in a net cash position. In liquidity terms, our cash and bank balances, together with our short term investments, were three times our S$8 billion debt due over the next decade.

Post March 2016 year end, we tendered our shares in Neptune Orient Lines (NOL) as part of the Voluntary General Offer made by CMA CGM in December 2015. As a member of the pioneer management of NOL, I viewed this development with regret, but I am confident that the combination of NOL and CMA CGM will create a leading company that can best hold its own to deliver reliable and efficient service to customers.

Economic Outlook

We remain cautiously optimistic about the next few years.

The US economic recovery is largely on track, while we expect China to transit successfully to a more sustainable growth path in the medium term. Monetary policy is likely to remain accommodative across most of the major economies, including additional easing in Europe and Japan, though that may aggravate risks further down the road.

In Singapore, our open economic structure will keep us vulnerable to shifts in the global economy. This is mitigated by the ongoing domestic restructuring to help unlock stronger productivity growth for the future.

Overall, we see positive underlying fundamentals in both mature and growth markets, though equity markets remain susceptible to bouts of volatility. China will grow more slowly but more sustainably, while energy prices are likely to be range bound.

Our Institution

Our focus on sustainability anchors our philosophy of generational investing. It encompasses sound and sustainable governance, values and a culture of integrity and excellence as an organisation, and an abiding respect for our larger community and the world in which we live.

Even as we invest for our future generations, we are also mindful of a changing world, and the need to ceaselessly adapt and transform to remain relevant – no different from what drove us in our founding years.

In 2011, we formed Temasek International (TI) as the wholly owned management arm of Temasek Holdings, anticipating the capabilities and bandwidth to manage a growing and increasingly global portfolio.

In October 2015, Lee Theng Kiat was appointed Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer of TI, to helm Temasek’s role as an active investor and shareholder.

Ho Ching remains Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer of Temasek Holdings to oversee our stewardship role, including our constitutional responsibility to protect the Company’s past reserves.

Ho Ching and Theng Kiat will play complementary roles to oversee and strengthen Temasek’s foundation as a forward looking institution.

Post March 2016, we were happy to welcome Theng Kiat to the Board of Temasek Holdings.

In May 2016, Theng Kiat re-organised Temasek management, as we continue to evolve with our changing needs. Our sector and market investment teams were regrouped together under a single Investment Group, while a new Portfolio Strategy & Risk Group will strengthen our focus on long term portfolio resilience and risks, and help to proactively shape our portfolio to capitalise on major global trends.

To provide focus for our diverse efforts to foster ideas and programmes for sustainability and stewardship, we have regrouped various units into a new Sustainability & Stewardship Group.

Together with the Enterprise Development, Portfolio Management, and Corporate Development Groups, as well as our international network of offices, we should be better organised to address immediate as well as longer term priorities.

6%

20-year TSR

S$242b

Net portfolio value

S$8b

Dividend income

18x

Dividend income over interest expense

Our Temasek Review, Credit Profile and Temasek Bonds serve as public markers to instil and foster long term discipline. They also facilitate our engagement with the wider community, and broaden our stakeholder base to lay the foundation for a disciplined institution for the future.

On the international front, we were very pleased to extend a warm welcome to the distinguished members of our Temasek European Advisory Panel and Temasek Americas Advisory Panel, formed this January and June respectively. They complement the Temasek International Panel, to address trends and issues relevant to our key markets.

Our Temasek Review, Credit Profile and Temasek Bonds serve as public markers to instil and foster long term discipline.

Our Communities

We were deeply saddened by the tragic loss of young lives during the Sabah earthquake in June last year. The ‘Sabah Earthquake Fund’ was established later that month, for the dependents of Singaporeans who lost their lives, as well as for the trainers and guides in Sabah whose livelihoods had been affected, and to support the families of those who perished.

Managed by the Ministry of Education and Temasek Foundation, the Fund saw generous contributions from individual and corporate well-wishers, raising almost S$1 million, including Temasek’s dollar-for-dollar matching of our own staff’s donations.

Our staff also helped to structure the donations into endowments to provide ongoing financial support for dependents of the brave teachers and guide who died on the mountain protecting the students: the late Mr Mohammad Ghazi Bin Mohamed, Mr Terrence Loo and Mr Muhammad Daanish Bin Amran.

The only certified N95 masks sized for children, the AIR+ Smart Masks, commissioned earlier by Temasek, proved timely. They helped mitigate some of the worst effects of the prolonged haze from extensive forest burning in Indonesia that affected the region, including Singapore, last year.

In November 2015, Temasek Cares and SMRT Taxis launched the SMRT-Temasek Cares AED on Wheels programme in Singapore. This three-year pilot programme equipped 100 SMRT taxis with Automated External Defibrillators, boosting the community’s emergency preparedness.

We will continue supporting community programmes that focus on building people, building communities, building capabilities and rebuilding lives in Singapore and beyond.

We continue supporting community programmes that build people, build communities, build capabilities, and rebuild lives.

In Appreciation

I would like to thank our shareholder, bondholders, portfolio companies, co-investors, regulators, philanthropic organisations, and the broader public, for their continued trust in us over the years. I would also like to thank my Board colleagues for their guidance, and the Temasek management and staff for their unwavering commitment and dedication.

As we continue our journey of generational investing, we look forward to working together, to growing collectively, and to making a difference in everything we do.

Lim Boon Heng
Chairman
July 2016
The Temasek Charter

The Temasek Charter

Temasek is an active investor and shareholder, a forward looking institution, and a trusted steward.

Ten-year Performance Overview

Ten-year Performance Overview

Temasek's net portfolio value almost doubled over the last 10 years.

Portfolio Highlights

Portfolio Highlights

Temasek's net portfolio value was $242b, with a 60:40 underlying exposure to mature economies and growth regions.