淡马锡年度报告 2021

通向可持续发展之路

测量和追踪投资组合排放量

在上一财年,淡马锡承诺到2030年将投资组合的净碳排放量总和降低为2010年排放水平的一半,并表达了我们到2050年实现投资组合净零碳排放的愿景。

这个历程不乏挑战,不仅仅是数据的可用性、及时性和一致性有内在局限性,而且一些投资组合公司只能提供冠病疫情前的数据。当我们回顾2010年并且预估我们到2030年的目标时,这个挑战则更加明显。

尽管如此,我们将开始对淡马锡股权投资组合的碳排放量进行年度报告。2020年9月,淡马锡正式成为气候相关财务信息披露工作组建议的支持者,在脱碳之路上又向前迈进一步。

鉴于具备了更详细的公司层面数据和附属行业层面参照数据,我们更新了对截至2011年3月31日的财年投资组合排放量的估算,如下图所示。

(截至3月31日的财政年度)

向净零碳排放努力

Net Portfolio Value over Total Debt
  • dot-blue投资组合历史总排放量
  • dot-grey投资组合总排放量 (示例)
  • dot-green负碳排放量 (示例)
  • line-orange实现净零碳排放的路径 (示例)
  • triangle-purple日历年的排放数据和目标在接下来的财政年度进行呈报

图表注解

我们估算投资组合总排放量过去一年基本持平。

我们股权投资组合的碳强度从一年前的130吨二氧化碳当量/百万新元下降到截至2021年3月31日财政年度的103吨二氧化碳当量/百万新元。这主要是由于我们投资组合价值升高以及在碳强度较低企业的新增投资。

在投资组合不断增长的背景下,到2030年将投资组合净排放量降至2010年水平的一半,相当于约1,100万吨二氧化碳当量,这是一个勇敢的目标,需要我们坚定不懈的行动。

我们能否成功塑造脱碳节碳的投资组合这一使命,很大程度上取决于我们所投资的公司的愿景和承诺。

在这一方面,胜科近期宣布了将其业务组合由棕色业务向绿色业务转型的战略计划,设定了远大的气候行动和可持续解决方案目标,对此我们深受鼓舞。同样,新加坡航空集团承诺到2050年实现净零碳排放以及各种支持战略,显示出在难以减排领域的行业领军作用。翱兰也已经开始了发展低碳农业和食品供应链的进程

我们通过投资和其他举措来增强碳减排方面的努力,为负碳排放解决方案赋能,并加速企业向气候友好的发展模式转型,从而为脱碳之旅增添力量。

Temasek Review 2021
Pathways to Sustainability

Measuring and Tracking Portfolio Emissions

Last year, we committed to reducing the net carbon emissions attributable to our portfolio to half the 2010 levels by 2030. We also signalled our ambitions for net zero carbon emissions by 2050.

This journey is not without challenges. Not least is the inherent limitations of data availability, timeliness and consistency. The latest datasets for some portfolio companies date back to pre-COVID times. This challenge is even more pronounced as we look back to 2010, and as we look ahead to estimate the size of our ambition by 2030.

Nonetheless, we will initiate the annual reporting of the carbon emissions of our equities portfolio. In September 2020, Temasek became a supporter of the recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures, as part of our journey.

On the basis of more refined company-level data and sub industry-level proxies, we have updated our estimates of the carbon emission attributable to our portfolio in the financial year ended 31 March 2011, as shown in the chart below.

(for year ending 31 March)

Towards Net Zero

Net Portfolio Value over Total Debt
  • dot-blueHistorical Total Portfolio Emissions
  • dot-grayTotal Portfolio Emissions (Illustrative)
  • dot-greenNegative Emissions (Illustrative)
  • line-orangePathway for Net Portfolio Emissions (Illustrative)
  • triangle purpleCalendar year emissions data and targets are reported in the subsequent financial year

Chart Notes

Our estimated Total Portfolio Emissions have remained largely flat over the year.

The carbon intensity of our equities portfolio has decreased from 130 tCO2e/S$M a year ago, to 103 tCO2e/S$M in the financial year ended 31 March 2021. This is largely due to an increase in our portfolio value, and new investments in less carbon intensive businesses.

Against the backdrop of a growing portfolio, halving our net portfolio emissions from 2010 levels to about 11 million tCO2e by 2030 is a bold target that demands determined and sustained action.

Our success in this mission for a decarbonised and carbon efficient portfolio depends to a significant extent on the vision and commitments of the companies we are invested in.

In this regard, we are particularly encouraged by the recent announcement of Sembcorp's strategic plan to transform its portfolio from brown to green, supported by ambitious targets on climate action and sustainable solutions. Similarly, the commitment of Singapore Airlines Group to achieve net zero carbon emissions by 2050 along with various supporting strategies, demonstrates industry leadership in one of the hard-to-abate sectors. Olam, too, has already begun its journey for low carbon agriculture and food supply chains.

We add our heft to the decarbonisation journey by amplifying carbon reduction through our investments, and other initiatives to enable carbon negative solutions, and accelerate climate friendly transitions by businesses.