淡马锡年度报告2018
投资者

积极活跃的投资者

作为积极活跃的投资者和资产所有者,淡马锡着眼未来,造福世代。

自1974年成立以来,我们与时俱进,将投资从新加坡扩展至亚洲地区、欧洲和美洲等地。按标的资产所在地划分,我们对美洲和欧洲市场的投资现在约占总投资组合的四分之一。

过去16年里,我们的投资理念大致没有改变,继续遵循四大投资主题

  • 转型中的经济体
  • 增长中的中产阶级
  • 显著的比较优势
  • 新兴的龙头企业

近年来,我们针对若干全球趋势进行投资,包括:

  • 更长的寿命
  • 不断积累的财富
  • 可持续的生活
  • 更智能的系统
  • 共享经济
  • 更加互联互通的世界

这确定了我们塑造投资组合的方向。随着科技发展、人口变化和消费模式转变,这些趋势迅速颠覆了原有商业模式,创造新体验、形成新社群,带来新希望和新机遇,以实现更美好、更智能、更互联互通的世界。

我们的投资原则重点关注内涵价值以及是否符合风险回报框架。我们对每项投资机会进行自下而上的内涵价值测试,并依据经风险调整后的资金成本来衡量投资回报率。该风险回报框架驱动着淡马锡的投资策略、资金配置、绩效评估和激励政策。

我们管理流动性和资产负债表,保持其韧性与灵活性。

这一框架也指导我们推动投资组合企业各个阶段的成长和发展,无论是处于早期阶段还是成熟阶段的企业,我们努力发掘颠覆性的创新商业模式,促进行业转型和增长。

作为资产所有者和投资者,我们保持充分的灵活度,在机会或挑战出现时重塑和平衡投资组合。淡马锡主要进行股权投资,根据风险回报偏好,结合我们对市场的展望和价值测试结果进行投资或脱售。我们可以选择大规模集中投资或持有现金,且不会对资产类别、所在国家或行业设定限制。通过管理流动性和资产负债表,保持其韧性与灵活性。

作为积极活跃的股东,我们寻求为投资组合增加或创造价值,与合作伙伴、投资组合公司的董事会和管理层常常分享对全球或战略趋势的见解。我们主动推行良好的公司治理,寄望于投资组合公司的董事会制定与推动战略,并由其管理层来运营公司。

我们的投资原则重点关注内涵价值以及是否符合风险回报框架。

我们投资于处在不同生命周期阶段的企业,无论是初创公司,亦或是上市公司。总体来看,自2002年以来,淡马锡从非上市资产所获得的投资回报比从上市投资所获得的回报更高。

我们的非上市资产包括公司和基金。PSA 国际港务集团丰树产业(Mapletree)等非上市蓝筹股公司以及优质基金组合带来了稳定的股息和收益。对基金的投资有助于我们获得对新市场更深刻的见解,并提供共同投资机会。

我们有时可能通过买卖期权和认股权来体现增持或减持某些投资的意向或管理投资组合。我们也会通过衍生品交易对冲汇率,和/或抵御潜在的投资损失,衍生品的收益或损失与相应的投资损失与收益相匹配。

Delivering Sustainable Returns over the Long Term

相关内容

An Active Investor

We are a generational investor, investing for generations to come. We aim to deliver sustainable value over the long term to our stakeholders.

Our investment philosophy has remained largely unchanged over the last 15 years. We are committed to our roles as an investor and owner of our portfolio, seeking to deliver sustainable returns over the long term, and make a difference in what we do.

We have evolved over time since our inception – from investing mostly in Singapore, to investing elsewhere as well; in Asia, Europe and the Americas. Our portfolio companies have also grown their regional and global footprint through the years.

Our investment activities continue to be guided by four investment themes and the long term trends they represent:

As an investor, we remain focused on intrinsic value and our core risk-return framework. We decide on investments and divestments based on bottom-up intrinsic value tests, and our investment returns are tracked against a risk-adjusted cost of capital. This risk-return framework drives our investment strategy, capital allocation, performance measurement and incentive system.

This framework also guides us as we strive to be an enabler across all stages of enterprise growth, from start-ups to later stage businesses. We seek out disruptive business models that can transform industries and uplift growth.

As an owner, we maintain full flexibility to actively reshape and rebalance our portfolio, whenever opportunities or challenges arise. We retain the option to take concentrated positions or remain in cash. We do not set limits or targets for asset classes, countries or sectors. We invest or divest in line with our outlook and value tests. Our balance sheet resilience and liquidity management help us weather volatile periods. From time to time, we may put on additional protection to weather specific events.

In aggregate since 2002, our investments in unlisted securities have delivered better returns than our investments in listed securities.

As a shareholder, we identify value creation opportunities across our portfolio and share our perspectives, at appropriate junctures, with the boards and management of our portfolio companies, for their consideration. We promote good governance and look to boards to drive strategy, and to management to run their respective companies.

We invest in unlisted assets to benefit from the listings or sales of such investments at a premium. In aggregate since 2002, our investments in unlisted securities have delivered better returns than our investments in listed securities.

Our investments and divestments are based on intrinsic value tests.

Our unlisted assets comprise companies and funds. Our unlisted blue chip companies, such as PSA and Mapletree, and our portfolio of high quality funds, pay steady dividends and distributions. Our investments in funds have been instrumental in helping us gain deeper insights into new markets and have provided co-investment opportunities. We also share some of the investment opportunities with like-minded co-investors.

From time to time, we may express our interest to invest or divest selected positions or manage our portfolio through options and warrants. We may also use derivatives to hedge currency and potential losses of our underlying investments, where gains and losses of the derivatives are matched against corresponding losses and gains in the underlying investments.

Delivering Sustainable Returns over the Long Term

Delivering Sustainable Returns over the Long Term Chart